Spotted via Jeremy Zawodny‘s linkblog, a publisher is selling a Yahoo Publisher Network invite on eBay.
It seems that several publishers based in India mistakenly received YPN invites despite it being open for US residents only. While some have submitted fake address information, this invitee is obviously trying to make some cash off the error. And surprisingly, he’s got a bidder at GBP 79.00 (about $150 USD).
I know I have been asked numerous times for an inside track on getting a beta account. It seems those invites really are coveted! Although this is definitely not a way I would recommend getting your beta account.
Update: It looks like the seller originally tried to peddle it on Digital Point, before another member suggested eBay. Thanks Shawn for pointing it out.

Subscribe RSS










eBay isn’t the only place. I’ve seen people peddling them on my forum (probably other forums as well):
http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=27657
It’s pretty much like when Gmail first came out – limited beta, people testing it and showing screenshots, invitations being auctioned.
Is it legal?
I don’t think it’s illegal, but whether YPN would be happy about it, is another question.
The other question would be, why would you want to risk getting yourself into trouble with YPN over selling your invite. To me, it just seems like this person is just making a target ouf of themselves. I loved having the chance to test drive YPN, I just need to actually use it.
I’m sure YPN will take some action against selling YPN invitations very soon. I’ve noticed couple of non-us people selling their invitations in some forums. But don’t waste your time worrying about them.
The ebay item has been removed.